Apple dumpling, gang

What could be better than an apple cake made with handpicked apples from the Valley? An electric mixer. Seriously. Go buy one NOW.

I grabbed this Versunkener Apfelkuchen (German apple cake) recipe from Epicurious, but gave it a didn’t-have-it-in-the-cupboard twist. For one thing, I used whole wheat flour because that’s all I had. Also, I had only 2 lbs of apples, not 3.

Most of the apples are from a tree in Chad and Lindsay’s yard. They were small and dark red and looked particularly tempting, so of course I had to pick them. When I ran out of the mystery apples, I used a few Honey Crisp and Jonagolds sitting on the counter. These were local too.

Any satisfaction I felt about using handpicked apples evaporated with each whisk and stir. An electric mixer would’ve made it far less taxing on the arm. Baking should not be a sport. I shouldn’t have to suffer for a meal. What’s wrong with spending $700 on a kitchen appliance even if that’s more than a mortgage payment?

But … I digress.

The glaze really finishes off this cake (I had no Bundt dish so used two regular pans). And the end result tastes as good as it looks.

Leave a Reply

