Double Down throwdown

KFC’s Double Down arrived in Canada today. Bacon, cheese and “secret” sauce between two chicken breasts — a chicken cordon bleu for the masses. Of course we had to do our own gourmet version. So four of us sat down to compare the two. Here’s the breakdown: 2 DDs against 2 of our own stuffed chicken breasts.

Theirs: 540 calories, 30 grams of fat, 1,740 mg of sodium.

Ours: Who the hell knows the nutritional values? But we can tell you our ingredients: chicken, Provolone cheese, Italian prosciutto, sauce (mayonaise, Dijon mustard, extra virgin olive oil, roasted garlic, basil, Worcestershire sauce, salt, pepper)

UPDATE: We found the Dietitians of Canada website and had our (two portions) recipe analyzed. Baked Chicken Cordon Bleu.

Butterfly the chicken and hammer it out. Salt and pepper each side. Add one slice of cheese and one slice of prosciutto. Fold over one side of the chicken. Hold together with toothpicks. Roll in flour and shake off excess. Dredge in mixture of one beaten egg and 1 tbsp Dijon mustard. Roll in Panko bread crumbs. Place on wire rack on cookie sheet. Bake for 40 min at 400°.

Of course, our version won the taste test. Ours tasted real. KFC’s tasted just like you’d expect – salty, processed and guilt-ridden.

Nichole:

I appreciate fast food. And I started with the KFC version. That first bite – all you taste is KFC. If you ask me, save yourself the calories and stick with the bucket. Moving on to homemade, you can actually taste the textures as well as the flavours. My last impression and bite of the DD is this: salt assault.

Tom:

I found the DD incredibly salty. I could even taste it in the back of my throat after the first bite. Other than that, it tasted just like KFC with processed cheese. I never actually tasted the bacon. There are so many other ways to be decadent. I’d never make a special trip for this. The Six Top version tasted like chicken and had a nice crunch. And I could really taste the prosciutto. I don’t think I really tasted the cheese that much.

Doug:

I was very curious to document the immediate difference between the processed DD and our homemade version. As expected, the DD left a classic after-taste that screamed “head to the toilet.” The Six Top version had a genuine taste of chicken. In all honesty, I found our version salty because of the prosciutto. But on the salt scale, the DD was 99% while our version was probably around 70%. Still salty but much tastier.

Terra:

I love the smell of KFC, and the DD didn’t disappoint. The first bite was great. But after three the processed cheese started sticking to my teeth. I can see why one of my co-workers suggested a can of Coke to wash it down. That would kill the salt taste too. I thought our version was flavourful. But to be honest, I wouldn’t eat it as a burger (it looks more like a sub anyway). I think it needs to be served on a plate with salad.

6 Comments on “Double Down throwdown”

  1. Kim says:

    No macaroni salad ?

  2. […] Six Top If we can cook it, so can you Skip to content HomeAbout ← Double Down throwdown […]

  3. Chris says:

    Here via Foodie Blogroll. Nice blog and this was a fun post. The Double Down has been around here for awhile but I just couldn’t bring myself to try one. I like how you challenged it against your own for comparison.

    • Tom C says:

      Thanks Chris, glad you enjoyed it. We love our local, home-made food a lot but we couldn’t resist trying the DD seeing how much hype it was getting in Canada. And we’re happy to be a part of Foodie Blogroll!

  4. morrow says:

    http://alphaila.com/articles/?p=452

    …… here’s an interesting comparison between fast food advertising images and photographs of the actual food that gets served .

  5. […] The recipe is for chicken breasts stuffed with sautéed onions, ham and cheese. Yet another SixTop take on Chicken Cordon […]


Leave a Reply

