Eat your words, Tom

Yup, we tried to go vegetarian. Or at least vegetarian-until-the-next-steak. The ground rules were simple: No eating meat for a month except if it was served at a friend’s house. Only veggie meals at home and restaurants.

Easy enough, right? Nope. It was tougher than my mom’s overcooked pot roast.

For one thing, it made planning meals more complicated. I quickly realized that I had an asparagus-thin definition of vegetarianism. I couldn’t just eat pasta or salad every night, so I had to dig around for recipes. This meant thinking about the menu more than an hour before eating — always a challenge for me.

Then there was the challenge of eating out. Sure most places have one or two vegetarian dishes (often buried on the menu), but many of these dishes seem to be traditional meat-focused fare minus the chicken or beef.  You may get a few extra carrots, but nothing else. So you end up with a dish that looks as if it’s missing something. And here’s a fun fact: one restaurant said it uses a meat-based broth for its meat-less dishes. Considering the potato-leak soup? Ask how it’s made.

I think I was in Week 2 of the experiment when I realized I was cheating. I blindly ordered the macaroni special for lunch and got a heaping plate of pasta and ground beef. The next night, as I scrambled from one meeting to another, I ordered takeout chili. I ate half of it before I realized it too had beef (well, it was advertised as ground beef). Clearly I needed a daily reminder that I was now a vegetarian.

The month came and went. Curiously, it ended with the thud of new food books, including How to Cook Everything Vegetarian by Mark Bittman and Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food. I like Pollan’s manifesto: Eat (real) food, not too much, mostly plants. If my experiment taught me anything it’s that I need to think more about what I eat. Where did the veggies on my plate come from? What’s in the beef? Am I using meat simply as filler?

We’ll see how this goes.

6 Comments on “Eat your words, Tom”

  1. paul says:

    That’s a fun read! My better half is lacto-vegetarian since the age of eleven and eats the richest wildest meals of any person I’ve ever met. It’s all about the spices. So far she hasn’t lured me over and thankfully she loves to cook meat (especially lamb!) but I have to admit I have meat free days much more often which I think is a good thing for the old bod and the earth. Beef is especially bad and I’ve discovered this amazing ground beef replacement at the bulk barn. I think it’s soy based…. Just add water. Properly spiced it tastes and chews just like the real thing. I’ve even tricked my daughter into eating the stuff: she can’t tell the difference. In it’s filler roll meat is all about texture. Give them flavour and things like mushrooms and some cheeses fill in nicely for what’s “missing” in your meal. Then again nothing can replace leg of lamb! Just make sure you get it from a local farmer. So thanks for telling us about your interesting experiment and the book suggestions.

  2. Shawn says:

    But that picture of meat in your post looks soo good!

  3. le carnivore mystérieuse says:

    It’s a dark and windy night . It’s almost February , and I’m going to fire up the grill and create a little magic with a couple of striploins .

    moo


Leave a Reply

