Taking the CSA plunge

We finally signed up for a weekly delivery from a farm. I just can’t believe it’s taken this long.

I first heard about Community Shared Agriculture a few years ago. I loved the concept immediately. After all, it’s a great way to get fresh veggies AND support a local farm. But the thought of getting kale every week was a big turnoff. I filed the whole CSA thing under “great ideas for another day.”

Well, that day finally came. I checked a few websites, read a few flyers and finally signed on with Taproot Farms for veggies and Noggins for fruit. It felt like committing to a date every week for 20 weeks with someone I hadn’t even met.

But so far so good. The 20-week deal cost about $500. That seems reasonable for two boxes of fresh food per week. Here’s a sample of what you get:

  • Beet greens
  • Mixed greens
  • Green garlic
  • Tomatoes
  • Cucumber
  • Swiss chard
  • Cilantro
  • Carrots
  • Turnip
  • Strawberries
  • Red Delicious apples
  • Dried apples

And yes, you do get kale. But it’s delicious roasted with a little garlic. Who knew?!

I was pretty proud of one salad in particular. Everything in it was from Taproot (See middle photo). It had mixed greens, shredded carrot, beet greens and stems, and cilantro. The dressing was a strawberry vinaigrette from Cape Breton. OK, maybe it wasn’t completely from Taproot. But it was delicious and healthy.

Three weeks in, I still get excited for the boxes of fresh food. Patricia at Taproot keeps a blog so I get a little insight into life at the farm. She’s already warning us that the rain is taking its toll on the garden. I guess I’ll have to dig up some recipes for swiss chard, kale and garlic — the three things that seem to be doing OK.

2 Comments on “Taking the CSA plunge”

  1. […] Six Top If we can cook it, so can you Skip to content HomeAboutTop Six ← Taking the CSA plunge […]

  2. […] someone new. There’s no need for names so I’m just going to call him CSA. It’s been about eight weeks and things are going great. I feel fulfilled and satisfied, like this relationship is really going […]


Leave a Reply

